Raise money for charity with everyclick search

the Optimist view

If you are an optimist – or aspire to be one - welcome to our world. Here at Optimist World you'll find daily good news headlines, inspiring stories about charities, positive corporate social responsibility activities, sustainable travel, optimistic stories from the world of sports, and so much more

Kinshasa One Two - Damon Albarn leads album recording to support Oxfam in the Democratic Republic of Congo

By Simon Meadows

Last updated 9/6/2011 11:03:58 AM

Kinshasa One Two - Damon Albarn leads album recording to support Oxfam in the Democratic Republic of Congo

Former Blur frontman Damon Albarn has gathered together a collective of producers to record a new album in the Democratic Republic of Congo, to benefit Oxfam's work in the conflict-torn, African state.

Kinshasa One Two will also support performers in the area, following the recording of the project in Kinshasa over 5 days this past July.

The collective DRC Music, orchestrated by Damon, set out to make an album with contemporary Congolese musicians and worked with more than 50 local performers including Jupiter and the Okwess International, Bokatola System and Nelly Liyemge.

The Democratic Republic of Congo has long been wracked by conflict and is home to one of the world's worst humanitarian crises, Oxfam says.

‘"Every day in DRC there are hundreds of thousands of people who need Oxfam's support to access education, clean water, sanitation and basic hygiene," explained Pauline Ballaman, Oxfam's DRC Country Director. "The situation here has been out of the media spotlight for too long. Not only will DRC Music shine a light on the incredible musical talent coming out of the country, it will raise much needed funds for Oxfam's invaluable work here and focus the world's attention on Congo once again, seeing it as a place of inspiration, creativity and hope."

Kinshasa One Two will be released digitally by Warp Records on 3rd October 2011 with a CD/vinyl release to follow on 7th November.

Here is the full track list:

1. Hallo featuring Tout Puissant Mukalo and Nelly Liyemge
2. K-Town featuring N’Gotshima and Bebson
3. African Space Anthem (A.S.A) featuring Ewing Sima of Tout Puissant Mukalo
4. Love featuring Love
5. Lingala featuring Bokatola System and Evala Litongo
6. Lourds featuring Yende Bongongo of Okwess International
7. Respect Of The Rules featuring Loi X Liberal
8. We Come From The Forest featuring Bokatola System
9. Customs featuring Bokatola System
10. Virginia featuring Magakala Virginia Yollande and Yowa Hollande
11. Ah Congo featuring Jupiter Bokondji and Bokatola System
12. Three Piece Sweet part 1 &2 featuring Bebson
13. If You Wish to Stay Awake featuring Washiba
14. Departure featuring The Bokatola System

View trailer here: http://drcmusic.org 


Post this story to:

Your comments:
Please type your comment here and click the button to submit.
Powered by Alpine Interactive